Nov. 9, 2006

“Laguna Beach” Album Gets Fans into Summer Mindset

By Randy J. Klodz

Now as a staple on cable’s MTV, “Laguna Beach” is a hit that returns each season. To supplement the show’s TV success and its frequent use of popular music, an album called “Laguna Beach: Summer Can Last Forever” hit stores Nov. 7.

The album which features 19 total tracks displays favorites from the TV show as well as several short dialogue snipets directly from popular show episodes.

Key tracks from the album, which easily fit the album’s “Summer Can Last Forever” theme, include “Rooftops and Invitations” by Dashboard Confessional; “You and Me” by Lifehouse; “It’s Not Your Fault” by New Found Glory; “Bouncing Off the Walls” by Sugarcult; and an acoustic version of “It Ends Tonight” by All-American Rejects.

Also, the album kicks off with the show’s theme song, Hilary Duff’s bouncy “Come Clean,” a track that has been a mainstay with the show’s opening credit sequence.

The album also features popular tracks by former members of San Diego-based pop-rock band Blink-182. “The Adventure” from Tom Delonge’s band shines and fans get a release debut of “When Your Heart Stops Beating” by +44, the group formed by Travis Barker and Mark Hoppus. For more info on “Laguna Beach” log on to